If you already have a doctors recommendation and would like to apply for the optional state ID card or the Patient ID Center card, you must do so in person after collecting the necessary forms.
In order to get a CA State Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC), you must apply using these forms. An MMIC helps law enforcement and marijuana dispensaries easily verify your protected status under Prop 215 and SB 420. Download the PDF in English or Spanish
Sometimes, there is trouble getting your application approved if the paperwork is not clear or if you are missing some information. If your application has been turned down for any reason, you have the right to appeal within 30 days. Download PDF in English or Spanish
Using this form to document your medical history is not mandatory, but may increase the chances of your application getting approved. If your condition qualifies under the law, you need some form of medical approval. This form can serve as a confirmation of diagnosis so the state can verify your eligibility for the program. Download PDF in English or Spanish.
Once you have the necessary documentation prepared, you must apply IN PERSON at your county’s program and pay the fee required in your district. In order to file your application, you must first establish proof of identity and proof of residency with the county office.
To apply for a PIDC medical cannabis card, you must have a doctor fill out the physicians form and establish proof of identity. After you send in your forms, you must visit the Patient ID Center in Oakland, CA to complete the enrollment process. It may take several days to verify the physicians form. The cost of this ID is $40 for first time members and $30 for annual renewal. Note that this is a completely different ID from the California Medical Marijuana Identification Card (MMIC) from the California Medical Marijuana Program (MMP), but is still accepted at many dispensaries.